Forums » Film School

How can I do the acting in my own film?

• 47 posts
    May 17, 2022 12:36 AM PDT

Good day!
    I am Julia and I am extremely passionate about filmmaking. For this reason, I am a filmmaking student. In the past weeks, I have been struggling with my assignment of making a short film, featuring myself. The assignment specifically asks to explore the acting side of filmmaking and create a short film of maximum five minutes, where each of us film ourselves, acting on a narrative of our choice. The assignment script can be original or it can be inspired from an existing film (which we will have to give credit to, of course).

I have never done this before and for me everything is still new. For this reason, I am here to seek wisdom for those of you who are more experienced. How should I proceed in doing the acting in my own film? What do I do to act natural? I tried filming myself but the result was very cringe and I was very unnatural. My voice was also very off as well and it sounded robotic.

Thank you for your time and I appreciate every advice you will give me!

Julia

• 56 posts
    May 17, 2022 4:54 AM PDT

If you are just starting, it is easier to record many small scenes rather than one big scene. Use different angles. Try to act 1-2 phrases as best as you can, then switch the angle and go for the next phrases. You can try a wide angle and a closeup and switch between them.

It will take a time, but it is easier this way.

This post was edited by Fjolla Teuta at May 17, 2022 4:54 AM PDT
    • 47 posts
    May 17, 2022 4:55 AM PDT
    Fjolla Teuta said:

If you are just starting, it is easier to record many small scenes rather than one big scene. Use different angles. Try to act 1-2 phrases as best as you can, then switch the angle and go for the next phrases. You can try a wide angle and a closeup and switch between them.

Thank you, Fjolla!

• 56 posts
    May 17, 2022 4:55 AM PDT
    Julia Doyle said:
    Fjolla Teuta said: